Sumru Ağıryürüyen - voice, mandolin

Şevket Akıncı - guitar, voice

Orçun Baştürk - synth, voice

Eda Er - synth, voice

Anıl Eraslan - cello, compositions

Volkan Ergen - percussion

Elif Canfeza Gündüz - kemençe

Zeynep Ayşe Hatipoğlu - cello

Zeynep Kaya - voice, synth

Alper Maral - bass trombone

Merve Salgar - tanbur

Tolga Tüzün - piano

I share with you this album, the first step of a long-winded quest in which I strike connections between dream, improvisation and film, both bringing together many creative voices in Istanbul and imagining my own dream through a collective one. The music in this album consists of my compositions inspired by the dreams that each of the musicians in this album had.


Furthermore, improvisations structured in different forms and recorded in different times and places independently, are digitally joined and re-edited to evolve into a collage within a novel composition. The recordings that were planned to be made in the Summer of 2020 were deemed impossible to be made at the same time and place, due to the reasons we all know, led to a quest for another form of cooperation and turned it into another kind of creative process. Apart from the fact that the coordination of the recordings turned them into a digital puzzle, there is another backdrop to this rapport. That is, as improvisers who know each other well and already in contact in different groups, there are many common grounds that our motivations meet, and a specifically ‘Istanbuler’ synergy emerges in our sounds and voices.


Our sound journey through Istanbul will continue with a film to be completed in the coming years. The fiction/documentary "Sound Dreams of İstanbul" which I write and direct is already in pre-production. My eternal gratitude to my treasured friends who helped my enthusiasm turn into collective joy and always accompanied me throughout this journey.


Recorded by Gökhan Deneç in Tarabya Cultural Academy, Sinan Sakızlı in Hayyam Studios, Volkan Ergen, Eda Er, Zeynep Kaya, Orçun Baştürk at their homes in Istanbul, August 2020

Mixed by Alexis Baskind in Berlin, January 2022

Mastered by Burak Tamer in Istanbul, February 2022

Cover Art by Joel Grip

Graphic Design by Ezgi Keskinsoy

Released by Rumi Sounds, Berlin